Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
Chez la Fée
Archives
27 juillet 2005

Can I loose my salvation ?

Last sunday, the "AuPairGirls" from MICC discussed the topic "can i loose my salvation?"
Here the resume by Lexi, I founded interessting (I couldnt come), so here for you too...:



The answer we came to was "no" here are the scriptures we studied...

1 John 5:11-13 ">God has given us eternal life, and this life is in his Son. He who has the Son has life; he who does not have the Son of God does not have life. I write these things to you who believe in the name of the Son of God so that you may know that you have eternal life."

- so if you "have the Son" in other words believe and accept Jesus, then "you have eternal life", eternal life is not temporary or something to be lost, but is eternal

 

1 John 5:16-17 "If anyone sees his brother commit a sin that does not lead to death, he should pray and God will give him life. I refer to those whose sin does not lead to death. There is a sin that leads to death. I am not saying that he should pray about that. All wrongdoing is sin, and there is sin that does not lead to death."

-we discussed what sin might be the one referred to here, the "sin that leads to death." We ruled out murder, adultery, and many other because there are examples in the Bible that show people being forgiven of those sins. We concluded that the only unforgivable sin could be to refuse the free gift of salvation, because Christ died on the cross to forgive ALL sins, so to refuse the gift would be the only sin left.


Romans 5:8 "But God demonstrates his own love for us in this: While we were still sinners. Chist died for us."

- the importance of this scripture to me is that Christ died for me while i was still a sinner, so there is nothing i did to earn my salvation. and if i cannot earn my salvation then how could i lose it, my salvation does not depend on me and my actions. salvation is a gift.


John 10:27-30 "My sheep listen to my voice; I know them, and they follow me. I give them eternal life, and they shall never perish; no one can snatch them out of my hand. My Father, who has given them to me, is greater than all; no one can snatch them out of my Father's hand. I and the Father are one."

-that scripture makes it pretty clear, we (a people that know Jesus and follow Him)  cannot be snatched from his hand and we will never perish, doesn't sound like we can lose our salvation.

1 John 2:19 "They went out from us, but they did not really belong to us. For if they had belonged to us, they sould have remained with us; but their going showed that none of them belonged to us."

- this scripture as we discussed talks about people who were never really saved. it says that if they really belong to us they would not have left. Once you accept Jesus and receive the Holy Spirit, i believe the Bible says that it is impossible to fall away or to lose your salvation. so the next question is, how do we know that we are really saved?

well if we believe and accept Jesus we are saved, here are some scriptures about Jesus being the only way, 1 John 1:12-13, John 3:16, Hebrews 6:4-6, John 14:6 and Acts 4:12

We also read the parable of the ten virgins found in Matthew 25:1-13


-  that although it seems that 5 of the virgins lost their salvation, the truth is that they never had any "oil" (likely a symbol of the Holy Spirit). Although they had the same outer appearance as the other virgins and even lamps, they were missing what was inside the lamps.

Publicité
Commentaires
Chez la Fée
Publicité
Derniers commentaires
Publicité